floating

Silence . . .  silence that is even more deafening than cross country skiing through the deep space between the towering rocky mountains.  I lie on my back, floating just a few feet above tall spires of seaweed.  I lie in the dark water, with the dark sky above me.  I feel as though I am enclosed in a very small space.  My four senses fade away and now there is only scent.  It has been so long since I had the desire to jump into the lake.  The scent brings back the memories of many childhood swims.  I lift my head up immediately, and climb up the ladder and out of the lake within less than a minute from when I slowly stepped in.

I decided to go for a late night swim too get out of the cottage, which was much hotter than the outdoors.  Now, being wet, I lay on the dock to let the cooling effect sink in, a light summer breeze helps.  My bathing suit slowly drips through the boards of the dock, clinking lightly across the metal bars and returns to the lake.

I lay down to watch the stars, my slick wet hair falls smoothly behind me.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Now we are transitioning seasons.  The lake will soon be too cold to swim in; the air is already crisp.  The breeze that blows makes it feel more like sweater weather than swimsuit weather.  I look back on pictures of hikes from last year at this time, and now look forward to many hikes with beautiful colours . . .  leaves floating on water.

floating leaves
