A strong cool breeze brings in looming dark clouds.  A draft pours through the house.  It is a perfect night to bake my beets.  The gas oven sighs it’s heat into the house, warming me up after reading on the couch.  One hour and fifteen minutes wrapped warmly in foil packets, cooked until they’re soft and tender.
P1050350
Lifting the lid on the pot, the red juice has spilled its way through, brightly staining the pure white.  I slowly part the foil to reveal the small gems – deep rusty red and bright cherry red, with a hint of sunshine yellow.

P1050356

I wait until they are cool enough to handle and gently slide off the skin.  The quiet hum of the fridge joins me in my mediation.

P1050365

Recipe:

6 large beets, leaves and stems removed

Dressing:
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
1/2 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 green onions, thinly sliced

